Motto 艰苦朴素 求真务实
Motto in English Being austere and simple, keeping on practice and acting for truth


The China University of Geosciences (中国地质大学; pinyin: Zhōngguó Dìzhì Dàxué; colloquially 地大-DiDa) is a key national university directly under the administration of the Education Ministry of the People’s Republic of China. It consists of two campuses: one located in Haidian District, Beijing, and the second in located in Wuhan, Hubei Province. The current president is Professor Deng Jun.

sun-setting on DiDa
part of the beautiful Wuhan campus

According to (2016), CUG is ranked 39th among Chinese universities.

The Wuhan campus has a large annual enrollment and provides majors other than geosciences for both local and international students. Examples of programes on offer in English are Electronic Mechanic Engineering, Communication and Information Systems, Geological Engineering and Management Science and Engineering.

Student Union

Student Union of CUG is a student-oriented organization that is led by the university’s Party Committee and directed by the League Committee, with the purpose of “serving students with heart and soul” and with the guideline of “self-educating, self-managing, self-serving and self-discipline” .

Student Union of CUG (Wuhan) has become popular for its spirits of solidarity, precision  and innovation. The student union of CUG strives to become a first-class student union in China.

Notable alumni include Wen JiaBao (温家宝), former Premier of China) and Ouyang Ziyuan (欧阳自远), Chief Scientist of Chinese Lunar Project.

CUG museum picture
CUG museum